Limitless New member, New Limitless build and questions.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bromley

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Hi, new member here, although not new to RC, I am fairly new to Arrma and particularly the 6s vehicles.
I've had a BLX Granite V3 for a while and fancied a new challenge.
I've got myself a new Limitless, Max6 Combo, 50 series motor mount.
Although the motor fits nicely with the optional motor mount, i just cant get the stock pinion(27t) and spool(34t) to mesh. Its a good 6mm gap between the two.
Ive tried the stock motor mount, thats even worse, hits the chassis and puts the motor further away.
I'm now waiting on a 39t spool gear to come and I'll see what options that gives me.
I've been looking at this thing for weeks now, waiting for parts to arrive, I can't wait to get out with it.
Anybody else have this issue? Maybe find an effective solution?
Here is a pic of the 50 series mount, stock gears and 4985 Max6 motor.

20210313_150208.jpg

Welcome. You don’t need the 50 series motor mount for the HobbyWing 4985. However you may need to move some plastic pieces out of the way temporarily to install it.

The stock motor mount should just clear and not hit the chassis. I have a fan mounted on mine and am still able to clear the chassis.

So not sure what your doing wrong but stock mount will allow as low as 26t with 34t spool, I know as I have ran it in my Typhon GT. With going down to a 29t spool you will need at least a 31t pinion with the stock mount as 30/29 won't mesh close enough. Again I know from experience as I couldn't run 30/29 had to go to 32/29 again with stock mount.