Mojave New Mojave EXB owner and some newbie questions

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aeromonte

Reaction score
Hi Everyone - just got a Mojave EXB and have some questions. Sorry, I'm new to large scale RC - so please go easy ;)

1) Since I have to add electronics I was looking at putting in the Hobbywing Max 6 with Hobbywing 4985/1650KV.

a) How does this compare to the stock BLX ESC and stock motor on the non EXB Mojave?

b) Will I get more torque/speed with this setup?

c) Is there a better option than the Hobbywing motor to pair with the Max 6?

d) Do I need to use a heat sync/fan on the motor?

2) Will the Max 6 fit on the ESC mount supplied with the EXB or do I need to get something like the M2C ESC plate?

3) Is there info somewhere on how to determine what tooth pinion to use? My EXB came with a 16 tooth pinion with a yellow warning card stating to run "high speed gearing" on hard flat surfaces only and to not run off road. Ummm, what?? It's all a bit confusing to me..

4) How about servos? I know there are a ton out there. I was looking at Reefs - but not sure if I need/want to spend $100 on a high end one.. Any decent for about half the cost?

Thanks for any info you can help out with! Looking forward to bashing this beast!

Hey hey, welcome and cool choice for first rig. I just picked up a M-EXB myself and I am in love with the beast! Still waiting on a couple things to be 100% but it’ll be ready to rip in no time.

I’ll try and do my best to answer your questions..

1. Hobbywing max6 combo ??
A: it’s quite a bit bigger motor can and it will have quite a bit more power than the stock blx system. Explosive torque in comparison..
B: Short answer is yes, lots more torque and speed can be geared for.
C: I think the 4985 1650kv is perfect for this application and will be well suited??