Granite New to the Hobby -

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grizzly Bear

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Complete Newb to the Hobby and seriously contemplating 2 Arrma purchases. 1 for Daddy and 1 for Daughter..

I'm looking at the Granite 3s BLX for Daddy.... but is the Voltage the way to go for the 6 year old....?

I appreciate that the Voltage is an older, bottom of the tree model but i have seen quite a few "breakage " threads.... Is it really worth the buy?

Thanks in advance....

Complete Newb to the Hobby and seriously contemplating 2 Arrma purchases. 1 for Daddy and 1 for Daughter..

I'm looking at the Granite 3s BLX for Daddy.... but is the Voltage the way to go for the 6 year old....?

I appreciate that the Voltage is an older, bottom of the tree model but i have seen quite a few "breakage " threads.... Is it really worth the buy?

Thanks in advance....
i can speak on the granite 4x4 truck (brushless/BLX and brushed/Mega), and that it is quite strong, i know a few people that visit my lhs has the 2wd model, one has a brushless combo swapped into it. never heard anything bad about them from the LHS when they brought them in (BL motor bearing swap) but didn't hear otherwise either.

Welcome to the forum!

I've talked through this debate with myself a few times, and I decided (but haven't done it yet) I am going to get my 7 year old son a 3s granite. Reasoning -
  1. I have 1 already, with a ridiculous amount of spare parts that could be shared.
  2. The voltage is not easily upgraded to the capabilities of the 3s platform, and would likely end up then getting replaced in the long run.
  3. The 3s lineup can still be run on nimh batteries, and I don't want the kids messing with lipos yet. That, combined with some altered throttle endpoints can create a setup safe for starters but can easily be turned up over time.