Granite Newbie looking for advice

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fthefox

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Hi there. I am new to RC cars and am looking for advice. What type of car shall I get to start with? I guess I will use it on varied terrains: dirt road in front of the house, local BMX track, former quarry, etc. What car shall I get? Granite, Typhon, Senton, etc? Could someone clarify the differences between short course cars, buggies and monster trucks?

Thank you.

Frank

Welcome to the forum .
A short course truck is a rc car that tries to be like a full scale short course truck but with the ability to bash buggies are more for you stable track car with speed and monster trucks are tuff and big and tall with loads of suspension for you terrain I would lean towards the typhoon because it’s stable tough and great for what your looking for.

3s Senton or Typhon IMO. Skip the mega brushed versions, you'll only end up upgrading to brushless.

I prefer the LWB chassis myself

Last edited:
Hi there. I am new to RC cars and am looking for advice. What type of car shall I get to start with? I guess I will use it on varied terrains: dirt road in front of the house, local BMX track, former quarry, etc. What car shall I get? Granite, Typhon, Senton, etc? Could someone clarify the differences between short course cars, buggies and monster trucks?

Thank you.

Frank

Hard answer....if I were in your position I would be looking at a lot of YT videos on each one to see how people use them to bash, etc...see how it behaves to see if the rig would be the right... I did the same for the Losi DB Pro, Infraction, and few others... I asked specific questions here get more insight on videos I saw but after weeks of videos I knew more about which rig fitted what I wanted...

Took me like 2 months to pull the plug on my V2 senton!! I don't regret my decision one bit!!

20210911_171649_HDR.jpg