Nimh discharge rates

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AaronF

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. 4x4-Mega
Hi all,

I'm pretty new to RC trucks, I have the Granite Mega 4x4 with the NiMh batteries. One observation I have, but no evidence of, is that the Dynamite Speedpack2 3300mah battery that comes with it seems to have better performance than the gens-ace-r-spam 5000mah battery that I also have. Its like it has a better discharge rate or something but I haven't been able to find anything out about discharge rates of NiMh batteries.

I'm going to convert it to 3s lipo at some point anyway, which is part of the reason I didn't get the BLX, so I could learn how they work.

Anyone had a similar experience or know about this? The truck appears to have more punch on the 3300mah battery.

Part numbers for anyone who wants to know
DYNB2071EC (Dynamite)
GEANM50007SDH (Gens)

Does your gens battery have a deans connector? Are you using an adapter? That could be factor. It also could just be the quality of battery. I've had really good luck with Dynamite batteries and consider them pretty good quality. I haven't had bad luck with Gens, but my Gens lipos seem a bit weaker than my CNHLs and Dynamites.

A fully charged 7 cell nimh has more voltage than a 2s lipo 10.5v vs 8.4v. Nimh just has a wicked power curve compared to lipo, performance drops off as the pack depletes more than with a lipo.

Does your gens battery have a deans connector? Are you using an adapter? That could be factor. It also could just be the quality of battery. I've had really good luck with Dynamite batteries and consider them pretty good quality. I haven't had bad luck with Gens, but my Gens lipos seem a bit weaker than my CNHLs and Dynamites.
The Dynamite has the IC3 and the Gens has a EC3, that's about the only difference.