Noob confusion about parts and upgrades

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Philistine

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Hey all,
Im new to all of this, so go easy and dumbdown your answers for me if thats ok?
Its been 30yrs since i had an rc car and a couple weeks back i bought myself A mini midlife crisis - A Granite 4x4 blx 3s (v3)

inevitably, repairs are required and id like to upgrade a few things.

mainly at this point im looking to replace some of the plastic components in the drive train/steering/suspension with aluminium parts because i can see wear and tear that may eventually causes breakage.

my question though relates more to the actual Granite model and its variants.

when im shopping around online i can see parts that i want that are listed as being suitable for the Granite mega, the previous Granite blx (v2?), Granite big rock and etc etc.
Im getting really confused and im just wondering what differences there are between models and if the parts i want are compatible with mine.

im looking at GPM racing aluminium parts in particular (will try to figure out how to post a link shortly)

im also looking at the metal CVD driveshafts which again, are listed on ebay as being suitable for other Granite variants, but not mine specificially.

any help or advice would be much appreciated!

I'm not too familiar with those rigs. Hopefully others will chime in shortly.
But to your question on crossing over parts.
The Mega 4x4 lines are similar. I would go to Arrma-RC.com and try and find the cross-reference parts guide. It shows the Arrma parts and what models they crossover to and are shared. Very helpful. A must have. Good luck.:cool: