Typhon Noob here...help me build my Typhon TLR...

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Thaitanium415

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I'm a noob trying to get back into the RC world again. I came from racing 1/10 on-road HPI with gas motor. Man, I do miss that RC gas smell though. Any how, I'm on the fence of either building a Typhon TLR or buying the Felony/Infraction and call it a day.

I really want to build the TLR to my liking but do not know what good parts to go with. My end goal is just to have fun in an open parking lot or grassy field with top speed. I don't really want to go with Felon/Infraction because I live in the city with lots of pot holes but I do have second thoughts of it since its RTR.

What do you guys recommend to complete the TLR? My budget is about $1000-1200. I don't really like cheap parts. I like parts that will perform for the price.

Needed to Complete​

• (1) ESC
  • (1) Motor
  • (1) Pinion
  • (1) Transmitter
  • (1) Receiver
  • (1) Steering Servo
  • (1) Battery
  • (1) Charger
Thanks in advance!

MAX8 / 2200kv combo would be a very solid, economical setup for bashing. If you are thinking of racing, I’m not your guy.

For radios, I can’t suggest the Flysky Noble NB4 enough.

Servos are easy for such a light car. DS3235 is slight overkill but cheap and easy.

Battery I would go about a 5000mah 4S pack, like the Yowoo Graphene. Plenty of punch for low money.

Chargers I love my ISDT chargers.

Hello everyone! I'm a noob trying to get back into the RC world again. I came from racing 1/10 on-road HPI with gas motor. Man, I do miss that RC gas smell though. Any how, I'm on the fence of either building a Typhon TLR or buying the Felony/Infraction and call it a day.