Granite Normal Slipper Play in Motor Mount?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RCBro80

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Granite
  2. Kraton 6s
Good morning,

I've just received some of the parts to upgrade my son's Granite Mega to brushless, and I have an easy question for the experts here. Is this play between the slipper and the motor mount normal? I studied the exploded view and I don't see anything missing, so I'm assuming the driveshaft will hold this in place when fully assembled. Is that right?

I believe that’s fine, I have done the same upgrade, the sprung centre drive shaft will keep it more in place once installed. I’m still quite new to the hobby though

It's normal, but you might want to use 15mm OD shims to negate that play. I used HPI 101291 shims

The spur usually grinds on the plastic motor housing and creates a black powdery dust that will eventually destroy the bearings, including the motor bearings

Great catch by the way 👍 I feel this is a must do for all of the Arrma 4x4 cars

It's normal, but you might want to use 15mm OD shims to negate that play. I used HPI 101291 shims

The spur usually grinds on the plastic motor housing and creates a black powdery dust that will eventually destroy the bearings, including the motor bearings

I should look into this since I run 6s in these 4x4 cars...

Thanks! I've heard (or seen pictures) of rubbing, but I wondered if they had installed the slipper backwards.

I'm trying to rationalize the mechanism that would cause the slipper to move forward under spring tension from the driveshaft... either way, that sounds like a simple fix.

Thanks! I've heard (or seen pictures) of rubbing, but I wondered if they had installed the slipper backwards.

I'm trying to rationalize the mechanism that would cause the slipper to move forward under spring tension from the driveshaft... either way, that sounds like a simple fix.