Typhon On my second chassis...

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dopa0282

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
Hi folks RC newbie here...

I only run my Typhon on an off-road buggy track which is jumpy, bumpy, dusty, hard and normally very hot (30-35 Ambient). Chassis slap on jumps is so bad that the rear end chamfered to a knife edge and the screw heads holding the rear diff case got sanded away...

I am now on my second chassis and have ordered some RPM rear skid plates which will help but perhaps mask the underlying problems.

Most of the EP guys at the track are running Sworkz, HB or Tekno and shock oil between 400-550 seems to be the norm. From the manuals the stock options for the Typhon are 800/600 and the DEX 8 450/400 (big difference for similar platforms). I have been experimenting with various oils but currently running 550/500, stock springs, 2 x 2s long hardcase LIPO and various ride heights. Generally I do not see other buggy's bottoming out as much as the Typhon.

Is this buggy to heavy or is there more experimentation to be done with oil/spring combo?

generally, RTR's do weight more than their racing spec counterparts.

Stiffer springs is probably where I would go next from your description. See if you can find a Mugen guy and talk set up with him - this is what I do. Our Arrma's very similar to the Mugen chassis.

I have also been struggling with a bottoming Typhon. After testing different springs(some pretty stiff too) and oils I realized that there must be something wrong with the shocks themselves. Our local rc shop owner, a very experienced guy and long term factory test driver(not hobbico brands), told me it is the tolerance between pistons and shock bodies. He told me how DEX 8 with 450/400 oils, 80/62 kgf springs and 8x1.2 pistons can be dropped from 70cm height without any bottoming.