On The Fence

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tninl

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Limitless
Like a few others threads i have seen recently i just picked up a limitless roller, i couldn't pass it up with the sale going on. Hopefully you guys aren't getting too tired of these threads just yet.

My goals with this build is speed running. I am new to speed running but not RC's in general. I have ran RC's off and on for the last 20 years, however they were mostly off road bashers. So i plan to work my way up gradually but at the same time I like the thought of having a lot of headroom.

I was planning on completing a build soon so i had already started doing some research but i am on the fence between the XLX2 with a 1717 - 1650 KV and the XLX2 with the 2028 - 1100KV. My original plans had me going with the 1717 but when i was pricing everything out i noticed the difference in price is only about $20. This has me second guessing my initial thoughts.

I have done a bit of research regarding the 2028 and realize some aftermarket parts are needed to complete it. Also with the motor orientation being changed and the batteries moved as well it will be a bit more difficult to dial in the suspension/ balance of the car.

My concerns are the drivability between the two. On some of the videos i have watched running the 2028 set up it appears to be more difficult to keep down. For example when Raz was testing it he said if he he ramped the throttle up too fast even over 100 it would power wheelie. Given i will be new to speed running i would hate to get in over my head and become discouraged.