Typhon Opinion of my new purchase needed

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bill W.

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. 4x4-Mega
I'm totally new to the hobby and, as a beginner, I intended on purchasing a new Arrma Typhon Mega. However, I found a used upgraded Typhon build that I couldn't pass up for the price. I vetted the seller, who lives not far from me, and is also a friend of a friend. Please read his description and tell me what you think. It's probably much more power than I need right now as a newbie but, again for the price.....

"I dropped in a Hobbywing 4s system from a Redcat Shredder. I upgraded the slipper clutch, mod .8 gearing, heavy duty shocks from the Xray XB9; real deal Italian track racing wheels, and a sweet Spektrum DX2S DSM controller, which has all the bells and whistles. Your nu2u RC car is in awesome racing condition. Comes with a huge 3S 5200 battery and lipo balance charger in the box. $350."

Car.JPG

Car2.JPG

Car3.JPG

Car4.JPG

It looks like a good deal, but get a better charger that can show cell voltages and internal resistance.

Looks like a decent deal.

I would get rid of that IC connector to Deans connector adapter. Have a local hobby shop solder on an IC connector on the battery for you if you are not good with a soldering iron. (Deans T-connectors are junk anyway.)

Those tires are for clay track racing and will wear out fast on the street or park. Plan on replacing those soon unless you will use it only at the race track.

Your new favorite website: https://jennysrc.com/collections/arrma-typhon-4x4-3s-blx-ar102696

Lots of sales-guy talk, but overall the deal looks OK. Radio is old, but so long as it works, it works. Probably have issues getting extra RX's (new Spektrum uses different protocols).