Opinion on 3s model

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ed1408

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Typhon 3s
  2. Voltage
Let me start by saying that I'm brand new to RC. Having this forum as a resource has been so helpful. I am really enjoying everything about the hobby and recently picked up a Granite Voltage. My 4 year old enjoys bashing around with it. I was thinking about getting either the Granite 3s BLX or the Typhon 3s BLX primarily for me to use and wanted to get any opinions or recommendations on the two. Thanks in advance.

Can't go wrong with either really. The granite is more of a stunt truck between the two, and the Typhon is more of an all rounder out of the box and very versatile ( It's easy to add monster tires to the Typhon and make it a truggy, or dedicated road tires and make it a top speed car, etc)

The Typhon has 17mm wheel hex nuts which is a common size for 1/8 scale vehicles so there are a lot of wheel/tire combos available. The granite has 14mm hex nuts which isn't very common so if you want to get different wheels/tires you'll have few options unless you get the adapters from hot racing to make them 17mm or downsize to 12mm hex nuts which is a common size for 1/10 cars.

Whatever you choose should be based on what you plan to do with it. If you want a stunt truck that can do heavy bashing and you plan to leave it stock get the granite. If you want a truck that can do a little of everything get the Typhon. If you plan to explore things more and are not shy about buying upgrades then either is fine, with the Typhon I would say is the more versatile and can be made to do anything without needing as many upgrades as the granite would depending on what you want to do with it.