pinion to spur lash

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ndoppes

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Senton 6s
hello, new to the forum and hoping to get some help. I tried searching this topic and didn't come up with much, I apologize if this has been discussed already and I wasn't able to find the info.

I recently bought a 3S senton BLX and rounded a spur on my 8th pack. I am only running 2S batteries and really I've been driving the truck at 3/4 power, I'm new to this game and she is pretty squirelly at full pull haha. Anyhow I live out in the middle of no where and I had to drive 2 hrs to get a new spur. the guy at the shop said to make sure I set the gear mesh right. I proceeded to watch toturials on gear mesh. I then went to install the new spur and realized the motor is fixed in its motor mount.I attempted to set the spur anyway with a piece of paper. I buttoned everything back up and set the slipper about 3/4 out.

With fresh battery I went for a test, I made it a half a pack before it started sounding funny, I pulled the motor apart and sure as hell the gear was already toast. Im pretty frustrated with the money I spent to have only run 8.5 packs and 2 spur gears toast. Any thoughts or help will be appreciated. slipper to tight? bad mesh? how can the mesh even be adjusted with a fixed mount?

I have a hot racing metal spur in the mail, will I need to run a hardened pinion with 2S packs and with the metal setup what is the next weak link?

Thanks again in advance, the truck is a blast when she's dialed. As of right now its a pretty expensive paper weight....

Last edited:
In my experience, if a 3s truck spur goes it's due to some issue with the motor or bearings. Have you checks the motor shaft for any excessive side to side play? Have you checked the bearings on the spur hubs? You don't set mesh with the stock mount. It's fixed.