Infraction Question on setup expectations

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Newbie RC

Rig of the Month Winner
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Infraction
Hey. Just got back into RC’s after 20 years away. So I’m basically new to this. I brought a infraction a couple weeks ago and already ordered new parts. I got aTP 4050 2310kv coming in with a ez run max 5. I’m running it with two smart spektrum 3s 50c 5000. What can I expect speed wise with the 18t vs 27t pinion? I’m running the factory spur

Hey. Just got back into RC’s after 20 years away. So I’m basically new to this. I brought a infraction a couple weeks ago and already ordered new parts. I got aTP 4050 2310kv coming in with a ez run max 5. I’m running it with two smart spektrum 3s 50c 5000. What can I expect speed wise with the 18t vs 27t pinion? I’m running the factory spur
I think 27T can hit 96 mph

My calculations say:
46/27T = 91.5 mph on 6s
46/18T = 60 mph on 6s

Please know that if you plan to do more than 1-2 speed passes then use the 46/18 gearing.
The 46/27 will get hot in a hurry.

If you catch the speed bug, then you will want to order the Limitless spool (29 to 34T spur)
(lowest price is eBay kit breakers like Jenny's RC or JRC)

Have fun and be safe!

Last edited:
Edited my previous post. Pretty close to Porschetech

People crack 80mph with the 46/27 combo on the original blx 2050kv motor. The TP motor should give you some more RPM and speed beyond what the stock setup does. Then if you want to go faster it is just a matter of gearing up!

Edited my previous post. Pretty close to Porschetech

People crack 80mph with the 46/27 combo on the original blx 2050kv motor. The TP motor should give you some more RPM and speed beyond what the stock setup does. Then if you want to go faster it is just a matter of gearing up!
I’m not 100% on this. I could have sworn someone hit that speed on stock setup.