Ramp strong enough for the K8?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jaylex

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Kraton 8S
Can anyone direct me to any videos to build my own ramp that is strong enough for the K8. I need to leave it outdoors but I will also need to move it around. Or anyone have any plans? Not great at woodworking but have a neighbour who is and who is really keen to help ;-)

Best build I’ve seen....

throw some castor wheels on the vertical plane to move it around. Ya leave it outside you’re going to have to finish it with varathane or something similar.

45 degrees is the optimum angle for distance at a given speed. It’s a projectile motion physics type thingy. It’s also important to have a proper lower transition to that 45 degrees so you can mitigate that chassis bottoming out before you launch.

ps, I’m a newb and not sending my truck yet, but physics doesn’t lie.

Last edited:
45 degrees is the optimum angle for distance at a given speed. It’s a projectile motion physics type thingy. It’s also important to have a proper lower transition to that 45 degrees so you can mitigate that chassis bottoming out before you launch.

Was roughly what I had in mind. Anyone got any other recommendations is finishing with a straight 45 better than creating a curve or similar?

Yes finish with a 45. Use hdpe for the face
AD2F6F63-3497-47DD-90CB-1CEFD8FC4AD3.jpeg
7219F04D-5CBD-4BA7-8FC5-950AF465C9D0.jpeg

Looking great, if you can I would place blocks behind the supports ribs. The two screws connecting each of the ribs will be taking all the force and might be worth proving a bit of support (red in the pic)
C91CD4FB-DA77-43E8-941A-73F3BE9D18D9.jpeg

Looking great, if you can I would place blocks behind the supports ribs. The two screws connecting each of the ribs will be taking all the force and might be worth proving a bit of support (red in the pic)View attachment 86356