Granite Recommended ESC upgrade Mega Granite 4x4

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kangawookie

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. 4x4-Mega
I notice that my ESC overheats before the stock NIMH battery is empty. It gets pretty hot to the touch, I lose reverse first, then all forward throttle, wheels will still turn. Jumpers are in the right position. I am looking for a replacement ESC, but I am new to RC so I am not sure if getting something with higher than 35A it comes with will be a problem. I seen some people said they replaced with Helion 30a AWD.

Thank guys!

Personally, I only ran lipo in my granite 4x4. Never made it to LVC, it would always thermal. I tried a 4000mah 35c 2s and a 6000mah 90c. I was planning on leaving it brushed longer than a week, but if it is gonna overheat every run, then I am pulling that crappy ESC.

After 10-15 minutes, my temps were ESC 175f, motor between 190f and 205f. Every run. 100% stock, other than the lipo. Driveline spins free. When I dropped in the BLX brushless system on a 25t pinion, my temps were <100f, motor and ESC.

Thanks Jerry! I may eventually go this route. I like the 4x4, what would you recommend as a RTR in similiar style that I won't instantly want to replace the ESC and motor?

Zoldo, Hobbyking still hasn't shipped my lipos :(

Thanks Jerry! I may eventually go this route. I like the 4x4, what would you recommend as a RTR in similiar style that I won't instantly want to replace the ESC and motor?

You don't *need* to replace anything on the stock Granite 4x4. It's an awesome truck! I haven't tried the stock NiMH battery, but with an optional 2S LiPO, it nearly pulls wheelies. lol I just chose to go brushless. :)

Ouch on the batteries. I got mine off Amazon...