Senton Removing drive shaft for 2wd?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bdavis

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Senton 6s
  2. 4x4-Mega
Hey gents! I was curious if running the senton with the drive shaft out for 2wd can cause any damage. I've done it a couple of times and it seems to be harmless but then again, I'm a newbie! I'm running a 4000kv brushless with a 70amp ESC. All other parts are stock. I was thinking that might be a little too much torque going all to the rear diff but im not sure. What do yall think? Anyone ever run theres this way?

Theoretically if you have two diffs connected, the power is devided evenly over those two. When you have a 2WD all that torque/power goes to a single component. So 4wd would be better.
And why would you? 4wd handling is always superior to 2w rear drive.

The big unknown for everybody at the moment; will the Mega driveline handle a 4000kv/60A brushless set?
You might be the first to find out.

Not the answer you were looking for, but a lot here are interested in your future findings ;)

Thanks for the reply. So far (1 week) the stock components have handled the 4000kv motor and new ESC just fine. Doesn't mean it will last though.

I would suggest to inspect the drive-cups and internals of the diffs soon. I do not know if these diffs are filled with silicon oil or cheap grease, make sure you find out in advance!

I would buy one if they are solid enough!

Coming from traxxas...plastic driveshafts/CVDs were the bane of my existence on even 2s lipo. I have a Raider XL (dogbones) and I generally have preferred this to CVD's...even MIP CVD's which I end up using in my traxxas vehicles. Are people experiencing these snapping like crazy? Especially with esc/motor upgrades.

I ran these driveshafts on 6s - & can still run them on 6s ;)