Register and gain access to Discussions, Reviews, Tech Tips, How to Articles, and much more - on the largest Arrma RC community for RC enthusiasts that covers all aspects of the Arrma-RC brand!

Register Today It's free! This box will disappear once registered!

Reverse and braking issue

Discussion in 'Chassis & Drivetrain' started by Deathspared, Sep 12, 2015.

  1. Deathspared

    Deathspared Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Arrma RC's:
    Granite
    Hi there. I replaced my arrma transmitter and receiver with a spektrum combo and also installed a hitec servo. I am now having an issue that I'm not sure what the problem is. My reverse and brake occasionally do not work. I turn it on and they both work but then after a few seconds it stops. Even after waiting 10 seconds it still won't go in reverse.

    I checked the esc setting and it is set for brake and reverse. I've tried rebinding the receiver. I'm quite perplexed what the problem is.

    It makes a clicking noise when it doesn't reverse and then if I go forward and then try reverse it works.
     
    #1 Deathspared, Sep 12, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2015
  2. Deathspared

    Deathspared Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Arrma RC's:
    Granite
    I narrowed it down to either the esc or motor!
     
  3. Deathspared

    Deathspared Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Arrma RC's:
    Granite
    Turns out my new hi tec servo is causing the problem. When I have the servo plugged into the receiver the brake and reverse don't work intermittently. When I unplug the servo the brake and reverse work perfectly. Any ideas what could possibly cause this??
     
    #3 Deathspared, Sep 13, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2015
  4. Walter

    Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    203
    Arrma RC's:
    Fury, Granite
    I'm guessing it's the BEC voltage and the power requirements of the servo. You could try an external BEC or a new servo.
     
    Deathspared, Unusual RC and WoodiE like this.
  5. Unusual RC

    Unusual RC Moderator
    Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    295
    Location:
    The Hague, The Netherlands, Europe
    Arrma RC's:
    Fury, Mojave
    Walter could be right about this.

    I would try the original TX and RX to be sure, if you still have it.

    And also a word of ⚠!
    Your esc could be damaged beyond repair because of too much power asked from it's BEC system.

    Which esc. from Arrma is it? Mega, BLS or BLX?
     
    Deathspared likes this.
  6. Deathspared

    Deathspared Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Arrma RC's:
    Granite
    It's the blx. I tried another receiver transmitter and same problem. I bought a traxxas 2075 and installed it. Problems seems to have disappeared. Hi tec suggested the same problem with the esc not putting out enough. So lesson learned! I would have liked a servo with metal gears but I am happy it is running for now. If anyone wants my hi tec servo I'll make a good deal as I'm sure tower hobbies won't take it back.
     
    Operator7G likes this.
  7. Operator7G

    Operator7G Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Arrma RC's:
    Senton
    Is the ESC not putting out enough amps? According to the manual, the BLX outputs 7.4V/5A from the BEC, which seems pretty good for an ESC BEC. I'm used to seeing 6V/3A on the HW ESCs, and I just checked Castle Creations' website, and they don't even list the amperage for the MM2's BEC. I'm guessing that the voltage isn't the problem, but I can't say as I've ever seen specs for a servo list the amperage draw. So how would you be able to tell before you purchase a servo whether or not it will tax the BEC?
     
  8. Unusual RC

    Unusual RC Moderator
    Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    295
    Location:
    The Hague, The Netherlands, Europe
    Arrma RC's:
    Fury, Mojave
    No, the BLX esc. only gives 6.0v/2.0A max output from its BEC system.

    So this hi-Tec might ask more.
    My Savöx servos work fine on this esc. And it is metal geared and waterproof!
     
    #8 Unusual RC, Sep 15, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2015
  9. Operator7G

    Operator7G Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Arrma RC's:
    Senton
    I'm curious where you got that spec. The only reference I found was in the big book of BLX, and it said 7.4V/5A max. 6.0V/2A certainly sounds more reasonable. Is it a typo perhaps?
     
  10. Deathspared

    Deathspared Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Arrma RC's:
    Granite
    Seems like servos should have their amp requirements in their specs.
     
  11. Walter

    Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    203
    Arrma RC's:
    Fury, Granite
  12. Unusual RC

    Unusual RC Moderator
    Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    295
    Location:
    The Hague, The Netherlands, Europe
    Arrma RC's:
    Fury, Mojave
    Exactly Walter! ;)

    @Operator7G : maybe you are talking about the 4-6S Esc from Arrma?

    A 1/10 scale 2-3S Esc with 3.0A is already a novelty. Many 1/10 scale trucks suffer of this problem due to the very powerful and extremely servos available nowadays. Especially speed in combination with high torque draws a lot of power from your BEC system.
     
  13. Operator7G

    Operator7G Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Arrma RC's:
    Senton
    Ah, that's what it is! There are two different BLX ESCs. My BLX manual for the Arrma Senton says "1/10th Scale Brushless" on the cover and has specs for the BLX180 (7.4V/5A). The manual you linked says "1/10th Scale 2WD Brushless" on the cover and has specs for the BLX80, which physically looks the same as the BLX180. I didn't realize there were two different BLX ESCs, so I just figured when he said "It's the BLX", he had the same ESC I have. In retrospect, it makes perfect sense that the 2WD vehicles wouldn't have the same ESC. Then again, it's odd that my manual says "1/10th Scale" when it includes the 1/8 Kraton/Talion/Typhon as well. At any rate, mystery solved. Sorry for my confusion.

    I don't think I've ever seen amp draw in any servo specs. It's usually just dimensions, weight, speed, and torque.
     
    Unusual RC likes this.
  14. BigSplit

    BigSplit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    149
    Arrma RC's:
    Granite, Talion
    Yeah the Senton is basically a part of Arrmas 1/8th line up. The design and many of the parts, including electronics, are shared between Senton and the rest of the 1/8 line up.

    Where as the rest of the 1/10th scale line up are a completely different platform. They do share a similar design and share parts with each other. But completely different then the 1/8th line up.
     
  15. Operator7G

    Operator7G Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Arrma RC's:
    Senton
    Yeah, I just got confused because I only read "BLX", but in rereading the thread, the clue was when the question was asked if it was the MEGA, BLS, or BLX, which could only be the 1/10 platform. My bad.
     
  16. Unusual RC

    Unusual RC Moderator
    Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    295
    Location:
    The Hague, The Netherlands, Europe
    Arrma RC's:
    Fury, Mojave
    It is confusing ;)

    Indeed I also never have seen the maximum amperage of any car servo.

    Problem with that is the power consumption rapidly increases when the load increases.

    So in one car or driving on a particular terrain, the load can be totally different on the servo.
    So that is why you will probably never see it.

    Problem is I smoked a 6,0V/1,0A max ESC during the 3rd 2S 6Ah lipo...
    Indeed the surface driving on was more rough then the day before.
    I used the Savöx waterproof servo
     

Users found this page by searching for:

  1. arrma granite 4x4 weak brakes

  • Welcome to Arrma Forum

    Arrma Forum is a Arrma RC fan site that was started to give Arrma RC enthusiasts a place to come together and discuss and share their experiences with the entire Arrma-RC product line, such as the Arrma Kraton, Arrma Talion, and Arrma Granite.

    We welcome all Arrma RC enthusiasts, both new and old, racers and bashers that share a common goal - a willingness to help and learn.
  • Disclaimer