Big Rock Santa brought me a Traxxas Rustler for Christmas’s. Should I still get the 1/10 Big Rock 4X4 that I’ve been saving for? Is Rustler Better than BR?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RC fan

Military Veteran
Reaction score
I’ve been having a blast with my new Rustler all day today. I’ve been saving for a Big Rock 1/10 4X4 for a few months. I got some Christmas money and I have enough to get the truck. Now i’m Wondering if I should purchase the big rock because the Rustler 2.0 is a lot of fun. How is the Big rock in comparison to the Rustler? Which one is more durable and more fun. Should I invest in a Big Rock or not?

The rustler 4x4 is traxxas’s counterpart to the big rock. One is better in this way... one is better in that way. I wouldn’t get both. If you want another rc get a short course truck or something of a different genre.

The Rustler 4x4 looks like a fun RC. I know someone that got one recently as an upgrade to their old 2WD Rustler and they're very happy with it. I'd say get used to driving it, you'll get an idea what direction you want to go for your next RC after a couple of weeks (MT, buggy etc..).

I say enjoy the Rustler 4x4, they can be fun! And keep saving for a Outcast or a Kraton.
I already have a Kraton, an Outcast, an Xmaxx and an E-Revo 2.0. I wanted a 4X4, brushless, one battery all tarain vehicle to add to my collection.

I already have a Kraton, an Outcast, an Xmaxx and an E-Revo 2.0. I wanted a 4X4, brushless, one battery all tarain vehicle to add to my collection.
Nice! I would drive it and see if it suits your needs. If not the good thing is that Traxxas RCs resell well.

Throw some Trenchers, MX28's or Badlands on the Rustler and go nuts don't like it keep the wheels and throw them on the BRCC if your not happy with the Rustler and decide to get the BRCC.