Servo and BEC question

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cxh_guerbear

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
My Big Rock Servo finally failed and I've been doing some digging here to figure out the best route to go. It seems the Amazon DS3225 is the way to go, however, I read another forum post and got the idea that DS3235 would be even better. However, I jumped the gun and it looks like I would need an external BEC to run it. I'm new to all the nitty gritty of RC electrics and from what I understand, the external BEC has to do with the voltage the ESC can handle.

The BEC voltage on the stock ESC is 6V and the operating range of the DS3235 is 4.8-6.8V so I could see the need for an external BEC however, it seems that the range for the DS3225 is also the same 4.8-6.8V but from what I've gathered on past posts, an external BEC is not needed for that 25kg model.

I think I'm just a little lost here. Can someone please guide me?

TIA

You are incorrect.
No external BEC required.
Get the DS3235 35 kg servo and matching 25Spline Servo Saver and be done with it. I run 8 of these in my 6s rigs. Great for $34. each. AMZ.
You are over thinking this. You were advised with misinformation some where.:unsure:
After installing, absolutely make sure your Steering Endpoints are setup correctly!!!
Or you will ruin the servo, any servo.

You are incorrect.
No external BEC required.
Get the DS3235 35 kg servo and matching 25Spline Servo Saver and be done with it. I run 8 of these in my 6s rigs. Great for $34. each. AMZ.
You are over thinking this. You were advised with misinformation some where.:unsure:
After installing, absolutely make sure your Steering Endpoints are setup correctly!!!
Or you will ruin the servo, any servo.
Thank you so much! That was the answer I was hoping to hear since I already have the D3235 and the Kimbrough Servo Saver kit. I will be installing everything tonight!

Perfect. You are all setup there.