Outcast Should I avoid going aluminum for front lower arms?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rhialto

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
Outcast met a tree, one front lower arm broke.

I've been told to keep it plastic because it's good to have such a weak point and it makes sense to me even if I'm not a pro.

Anything else to say? Anyone went alu and no regrets, yet?

By RPM arms and spray them with WD-40 and let them sit for a day. It will make them flex more instead of breaking. Just wipe off the extra that didn't soak in. Personally, I would never put aluminum A arms on a basher truck.

Finally bought the original, I wanted to be set for the long weekend... first time I changed those and all went well! Cool!

Keep replies coming... anyone went alu and what broke next?

I own 2 Traxxas Stampedes. One has a set of aluminum arms and the other has rpm ones.

Generally some flex points make sense . So far nothing weird happening with the Stampede with the Golden Horizons solid aluminum arms. However... That is with 3S use. Not sure what might happen when I upgrade my motor and esc and start to try 4S and up usage.

Edit: For horrible typos from posting on my phone. LOL!

Last edited:
FWIW...

Unlike my Traxxas Stampedes where the A Arms and the driveshafts pretty much need to be replaced right away I have to say that Arrma makes a great RC out of the box. Sure, the servo mount pretty much needs replacement.

The stock drive axles are working great for me and they look like they are going to go the distance.

I feel the same way about the A Arms. My Outcast took a nasty bump before I replaced the front bumper with a TBone Racing one. The left lower front A Arms took one heck of a hit and I have faith it is still ready for lots more bashing.

Replacing my A Arms is not even on my radar. I would look at shock towers, hinge pin hangers etc before I would even think of the A Arms.