Kraton Soldering XT90’s- what’s the trick?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

photobasher

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Granite
So I am new To making my own connectors, and not very experienced with soldiering. I have watched several YouTube videos and have made many attempts and I simply cannot solder an XT 90 connector to save my life! What am I missing? I can make an EC5 pretty easily, but on the XT 90 the “well” seems really deep and my solder slides down in there and the matter how I do it I can’t seem to get the solder on the wire and the solder in the connector to fuse. Is my iron not hot enough? I’m not sure what the wattage is.

I set my iron at 650 degrees. Hold the wires in a vice and heat up the wire by placing the tip underneath the wire and place the solder on top so it is wicked into the wire braid. Then I put the connector in the vice position such that the “well” is parallel with the table, place my iron tip underneath (I also tin the tip or add just a little bit of solder to it) and then just feed the solder in so it pools up. I let it cool for about 2 minutes, place the tip back underneath the post until the solder liquifies, then put my wire in it and quickly place the tip on top of the wire until it it “softens” and bonds with the solder in the well, and add just a little bit more solder to the wire. Then remove the iron and hold the wire until it cools and can support itself. Done.

Tip-if you have the other connector, like the male side to the female side, you can connect them to help draw the heat away from the plastic.

Last edited: