Spektrum telemetry question

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stokedcrf

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Outcast 8s
Hey everyone,

Sorry if this is a dumb question but I'm new to electric. Been a longtime gas guy!

I just picked up an outcast 8s and it came with the new dx3 which I absolutely despise. I'm coming off of an older dx3s with telemetry that I adore!

Anyways, the dx3 has leds on it for the batteries in the outcast. I am not using a spektrum smart battery, rather I'm using other 4s lipos. This frustrates me that so far it seems I can't read the battery voltage without a spektrum branded smart battery.

What I'd like to know is, if I purchase the newer dx5c thst is a smart transmitter, what telemetry information will I get? Will I get the battery voltage even though I'm not using a spektrum smart battery?

I'd be rather pissed if I go out and purchase a new spektrum transmitter just to find out they force me to use their batteries.

To be honest, I'm not completely sold on the spektrum equipment and am open to alternatives options. Whatever gets me good telemetry and well, AVC is a bonus for when the gf is driving it haha

Yes you need the smart batteries to use the telemetry
So no telemetry at all without a smart battery even with a dx5c?

The only reason why this confuses me is because even my ten year old hpi Baja has spektrum telemetry and it just uses a small 6v hump pack for the servos. No esc or anything.

Is it the esc that provides the telemetry info?

Are there any alternative solutions for adding non spektrum telemetry to my outcast?

I'm okay with switching to a new TX rx setup if need be.

I suppose I could change out the rx in my outcast with the one in my hpi Baja and use my old controller, but then I'd give up the AVC (which is probably ok)

Yeah all the telemetry comes from esc. You’ll get everything on a dx5c except for the battery info
Thank you for the explanation!