Granite Spur gear and slip hub Granite Mega 4X4

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

doublearon77

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. 4x4-Mega
Hi all,

This is my first post. I am new to RC cars in general, I purchased a Granite 4x4 mega last friday for my son, we loved it until yesterday, when we stripped the spur gear. I have been trying to locate one but all sources seem to be out of it ( Part# ARA311030). Are there any alternates I can use by changing the spur and pinion? We want to keep the stock motor for now.
Forgive my ignorance but, how can we avoid future premature failure of the spur gear? I'm sure this is due to user error. Any other parts you all recommend that I keep on hand or replace before failure?

Thanks! I'm really looking forward to learning from all of you.
Aaron

The Mega V1 & V2 used 48P gears. The new V3 uses 0.8Mod or 32P gears. Do you know which version you have?

I got the part#ARA311030 off of the parts list that came with the rc. So I assume it is 48p. I just bought brand new, How do I tell for sure?

Thanks for the quick reply!
The Mega V1 & V2 used 48P gears. The new V3 uses 0.8Mod or 32P gears. Do you know which version you have?
I got the part#ARA311030 off of the parts list that came with the rc. So I assume it is 48p. I just bought brand new, How do I tell for sure?

Ok then you might want to look into the newer V3 style, which is the slipper and pinion from the V3 mega line.

https://www.arrma-rc.com/products/-/30/1/ARA4202V3T1/STD/ALL/ALL

I updated my mega to steel when I went brushless and haven't had any issues...not that I had this problem before but going to brishless from brished adds a lot of stress to these gears ;)

Steel spur gear: https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B07LGF3G3Y/ref=ppx_yo_mob_b_inactive_ship_o0_img?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Steel pinions:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B07FBWD2ZG?psc=1&ref=ppx_pop_mob_b_asin_title