Granite Steel reinforced Granite?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VinnyMac

Reaction score
as an RC newbie, I received my 3s granite a couple weeks ago,

since then I have spent
  • $94 on new rear axles (got the arrma cvd upgrades, would recommend)
  • $129 on a good (generic) "pro" lipo charger
The seller sold me a zop 6000mAH 3s battery for about 1/2 retail and the truck was cheap to begin with too.

Before my first battery pack was depleted I had popped my rear left universal joint and scuffed my body pretty bad. Rookie driving I understand, I had gone straight to the bmx track - lol.

Driveshafts replaced, I have turned my attention more toward the cosmetic. Using CAD (the cardboard kind) I determined the length of the inside of the body to me 404mm, given the space between the body clip posts (70mm one end, 71mm the other). I then cut this out on a thin sheet of steel I had in the garage, bent it out in a small vice after giving myself 30mm each end to bend back upon itself.

The truck has gained approx 300g weight. I haven't driven it yet.

Let me know what you think

Vince

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

Don't think it's such a great idea. The durability of these 3s plastic rigs comes from the light weight of the rig. Adding needless weight just compromises the durability and makes it more prone to breakage in other areas.

I don’t think that’ll work too well. Ever heard of the shoo goo and fiberglass drywall tape method? Look it up on YouTube. Using that you can reinforce the entire body without gaining so much weight, which is a key thing with these 3S cars. You want to keep the weight down as much as possible to avoid additional damage.

Good luck trying it out And welcome to the forum!