Granite Steering Wheel Wobble Question :)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MikeCheck1212

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Granite
  2. Notorious
I'm pretty new to this car and hobby so please be gentle :)

I'm having an issue with the wheels wobbling really badly at full turn as per this video.

I haven't let my son take it back out since as im worried the wobble is going to rattle itself to pieces lol.

I'm not sure if it happened prior to me changing some bearings or not so i'll say what i tried to do and that might help in diagnosing the problem.

I had planned on changing all the bearings from stock to fast eddie's rubber sealed ones. The ones in the end of the wheels went on fine and the ones that replace the bushes in the steering were okay but when i come to do the bearings on the ends of the front diff, one wouldnt seat fully so there was a very small gap between the diff case and where the bearing sat, not sure this would create the problem in the video though but thought id mention it anyway.

Thanks guys :)

Sounds like the u-joints in the hubs rubbing a little. I don’t think it’s a big deal tho. These aren’t precision machines. They are bashing rigs. These types of slop are normal.

are the nuts holding the wheels fully tightened? i had my wheel go flying off cause my kid brother was screwing around.
Good call. Take off the front wheels and check the screws holding the caster blocks to the hubs.

wheel nuts are tight, i hadn't undone anything in the wheel assembly so could possibly be something loose in there, ill check everything and see whether its any better and report back, @jondilly1974 you really think that kind of slop is normal, I know its not a racing machine but surely more than 10 minutes running its gunna have ripped itself apart?