Talion Talion EXB - first Diff issue ?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PatMarcus172

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. BigRock 4x4
  2. Talion EXB
  3. Vorteks
Hi All

Im about 6 months in with my talion EXB. Im still a complete noob when it comes to 6S cars but very experienced with the 3S range. Prior to first running, a friend filled all the diffs for me and they've not been touched since but the car has only been used about 10 times in that period and only once for "biggish jump racing". Ive replaced a couple of bits - wing and wingmout and a front shock. Today I took it for some basic grass ripping and a couple of small jumps.
It sounded indefinably "wrong."
It seemed as though the front wheels were getting all the power and at max speed it was probably only going about half as fast as Id expect.

There was no obvious leaking oil anywhere.

I feel like the answer is inevitably going to be something diff related and that worries me as I was warned that even EXB diffs were "a constant problem" but figured that my relatively light usage would insulate me from that a fair bit.

Here are two videos
This one is of the car failing to get the power down
https://drive.google.com/file/d/166WdUz3eTcHAGn4Qw7rCqhM-iaP2fDmH/view?usp=sharing

and this one is what its likle when I flip it over and more power is clearly going to the front than back but the car IS still four wheel drive
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1QMSI6_ehurdWBU3YzlTydmO_zkhoKp4u/view?usp=sharing

If indeed I do need to replace a diff, Im open to any upgrades that might make the replacements last longer. I know better diff cases have a positive effect on the 3S range. Do they add any value for the 6S range if the diff cases are already exb ones ? My friends are always breaking pins inside diff cases. Are there better pins available, if indeed thats the issue ?