Kraton Tekin ESC & motor

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

THC

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Hey guys
Looking at the Tekin RX8 esc & T8 gen 3 motor for my K6S. Any one out there have experience or opinions on Tekin. Could use suggestions on motor kv aswell.

Used only Tekin very early in my RC years for racing. They are a different company these days after going out of business very long ago. And an old employee got the rights to the Tekin name and started up what we know as Tekin today. I have no experience with the new Tekin. Their motors are excellent. Most will agree. Best for racing. I like Sensored motors in general which the T8 is. Tekin is known to be very expensive by comparison to other competing brands. I have heard of Tekin RX 8's frying and going on fire. But so has Arrma BLX 185 esc's fried this way. I had my Notorious go up in flames. HH repaired the whole rig under warranty though. Kudos for that. Bashers generally don't use sensored setups. They are more costly. But I am using a Sensored HW XR8+/combo HW 1900kv motor in my Tekno MT. Sensored to me rules. But at a $cost$. Check the specs for the RX8, make sure it can handle 6S with the motor you plan on using. Motor in the K6s should be no higher than 2050 in my opinion. Some guys are using 1700-1900kv as the sweet spot with 6S on the Kraton.
Just my thoughts. Hopefully others will chime in with ideas and more practical experience with the RX8 and T8. I would not hesitate getting a Tekin motor whatsoever if the specs warrant/meet the application. I myself never considered Tekin ESC's as of late. Good luck. :cool:

edit: Tekin is generally marketed to the Racer crowd. I don't see it used much in bashing or speed running these days. Castle and HobbyWing seem to dominate.

Last edited:
Hey guys