Vorteks Thoughts on the Arrma Vortex

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DAVIDCORRAL

Reaction score
Hello all I’m new to rc cars/trucks well many years ago in my 30’s I bought a Stampede and drove it for a few years well stopped driving and raised two boys now 19 & 25 so I’m retired now 55 years old and looking to get back in.
I’m really impressed with the Arrma Vortex I’m really sold on it but I’d like to know………
WHAT ARE YOUR THOUGHTS

All of the 3s line are very good. Vorteks is good but tires are not great and the shorter shocks are not good for my driving area. You do pay more for the DX3 and avc.....that is a personal preference. If you are looking for all around kick #ss rig to get back in I would recommend the Big Rock. Longer chassis, more stable, decent tires for all surfaces, and a little less expensive than the Vorteks. Really....you cant make a bad choice with any of them.

If you like it, Get it!

The 3s line is great. The Vortex is the smallest and newest of the line. Same wheel base as the Granite, but smaller wheels and (I think) shorter shock towers for a lower body position. If you want to go fast, light off roading, some jumps but not a "Full time Full Send" truck, it will do great.

I have a Granite, It is one of my favorite trucks, probably get run the most out of my collection. I do have a set of ST wheels for it, mostly use them on Track Bash days. With the smaller wheels (like the Vortex has) it is very nimble, great in the corners. Not Race-car smooth, but it does pretty good for having fun getting around the track.

I got one recently. I'm new to the hobby so my 3s Arrmas are pretty much all I've ever owned since I had a toy grade one when I was ten.