Kraton Two brand new differentials, one is grinding

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. BigRock 4x4
  2. Infraction
  3. Kraton 8S
  4. Kraton EXB
  5. Senton 3s
I am still pretty new to the RC world. I was not ready to crack open the diff cups when I was building my Kraton. Rather, I ordered replacement bulkheads from Jenny's so I could disassemble them at my leisure and have the originals as spares. Reason for disassembly is to inspect fluid levels and replace the cup's with HR diff cups.

These are the two bulkheads that I received. I am about to crack them open and see if I can figure out why one is not as smooth.

The differentials are snug inside the bulkheads. There is ZERO side to side play. There is no play in the input shaft cup.
It does not feel crunchy all the way around. While you are spinning the diff, it only happens on half/part of the spin.
It is much smoother when you are spinning via the input shaft.
The smooth diff also feels smooth when only one output cup is twisted. The crunchier diff feels... well, you can feel the binding when you twist one side.

Is it possible the grease used on the gears is just causing it to bind and heat/use would resolve it?

I am still pretty new to the RC world. I was not ready to crack open the diff cups when I was building my Kraton. Rather, I ordered replacement bulkheads from Jenny's so I could disassemble them at my leisure and have the originals as spares. Reason for disassembly is to inspect fluid levels and replace the cup's with HR diff cups.

These are the two bulkheads that I received. I am about to crack them open and see if I can figure out why one is not as smooth.

The differentials are snug inside the bulkheads. There is ZERO side to side play. There is no play in the input shaft cup.
It does not feel crunchy all the way around. While you are spinning the diff, it only happens on half/part of the spin.