Typhon Typhon 3s BLX Grinding

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

M3akn

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Typhon 3s
Hi .. this week I purchased a Typhon 3s BLX. I am brand new to RC and have no experience in maintenance. On my 3rd run with the buggy it began to make an awful grinding noise from the rear (have tried to load a short video to show but it won’t allow). In addition to this it seems that the wheels lock up as well.

Is it possible anyone could advise me of what the problem might be please and/or is this normal to happen so soon after purchasing?

If any more info is required I will happily send.

Thank you in advance!

Unfortunately it sounds like the rear diff has killed some gears... hard to tell exactly what it could be without seeing it opened up.. by any chance did it land off a jump full throttle or anything? That can damage some gears..

Hi .. this week I purchased a Typhon 3s BLX. I am brand new to RC and have no experience in maintenance. On my 3rd run with the buggy it began to make an awful grinding noise from the rear (have tried to load a short video to show but it won’t allow). In addition to this it seems that the wheels lock up as well.

Is it possible anyone could advise me of what the problem might be please and/or is this normal to happen so soon after purchasing?

If any more info is required I will happily send.

Thank you in advance!

If you upload the video to youtube and then post the link here you'll be in good shape.

Hi All .. Thanks so much for your responses so far! Here is a link to the YouTube clip.. it’s not very long so if more needed let me know..
. I’ve not yet had the pleasure of doing any jumps yet so a little disappointed if something is broken already ..

open the gears cover and remove the spur gear, then try to rotate the motor by hand, i suspect the motor bearing went bad