Typhon Typhon 6s upgrade?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Carlitosgy6

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
Hi i have been bashing my typhon for some time 4s and 6s with good results but tried to go to a clay track and had problems controlling it, on 6s was difficult to control and with 4s was easier but clearly overpowered, im a rookie this been my first rc, a guy there told me that i have to get a sensored motor cause with that i will be able to tune it to control its power another told me that i can get a transmitter that can be setup to help with steering and throttle, do you think i will just get better with time or is worth it to do one or both of those things?

I would focus on the following: (note, I'm no expert - just been doing this for 20+ years off and on with various vehicles...)

1. Make sure you steering trim is setup correctly so the car tracks true and straight.
  2. Be sure your throttle calibration is configured in your ESC (if applicable, check your manual)
  3. Configure your steering dual-rate and mark on the transmitter where your maximum is, most likely if the track moves fast (outdoors) this will be too much and you'll need to then experiment with turning it down a bit further. This has 2 effects, limiting minimum turning radius and also increasing the precision of your steering.
  4. Make sure your ride hight is set at a good starting point. I wouldn't start a race with the buggy up high, I would start it around where the A-Arms are parallel to the chassis, then dial it in depending on how it handles on the track for future races (if lots of jumps/technical obstacles and few turns I may raise ride hight around half to 1cm max, if the course is almost flat with lots of turns I might even lower it from what I mentioned it before a little).