Typhon 6s v5 cancellation upgrade!!!!!

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eowyman

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Hello to everyone as you can I'm a newb to the forum and to the R/C world. My question is: Do I need to change my gearing when I install the 160 amp esc and 1250kv motor? I don't want to destroy anything else as I have had one to many crashes so I basically rebuilt my car. I upgraded my receiver from the stock RTR one and Im guessing it fried my esc idk! anyway I sent the receiver and esc back to horizon hobby since I only had it a month. the receiver was replaced but they won't have my stock esc until April disappointing right!!! So since eventually I'll be getting the 150 amp esc back I decided to purchase the 160amp esc any suggestions or should I not install the 160amp esc and 1250kv motor????? Thanx in advance.

I would install it as it's an upgrade over the 150A spektrum combo. You will also have 8s capability with the 160A combo. With the drop in kv of the motor you will need to gear up on your pinion or you will loose your top end speed you had with the 2050kv motor.

In a typhon, That motor can work. But can you handle it. You admit you are new and all, and it seems like driver error with just the stock setup was hard enough for you. Breaking things and all.
What you can do is use the 160amp ESC (8s), keep the stock motor and continue running 6s. Installing the 160 ESC will be tight I am sure.
1250Kv in there will be a bear. Sure it can be done. Tight under Typhon body though.
Driving 8s in the Typhon may be a bit much for you. You will be breaking much. The V5 diffs and drivetrain will need more attention.
Just me.
Others might have their ideas on this.

How big of a pinion should I run? I currently have the 20t installed on the 2050kv