Typhon Typhon motor temp question

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ScottSundstrom

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I just got my first RC car and its a v5 typhon 6s. I'm currently running it on a 6s setup and I noticed the motor was getting very hot to the touch. So today I shot it with a temp gun after one 3300 battery and it read 190 degrees. Is this too hot or should I just continue to drive it? I didn't think I was being all that hard on the car. Any advice for a newbie would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Scott

Def too hot. You want to keep the motor below 180 max. My Noto6s runs around 140-160. I'm still a newbie of sorts so not sure what would be causing it to heat up if you are running it out the box with no upgrades.

Was it hot outside when you ran it (that makes a big difference too-ambient temp)?

I'm positive one of the experts here can assist. (y) ✌️

it was about 95 degrees outside. I just ran it again and it hit 200 on the motor and 130 on the esc. All stock. I guess I need to find a heat sink and fan setup for it. Thanks for all the tips guys.
Be careful man. 180F is the magic number. Anything over that may cause permanent damage to the magnets. I try to keep my motors under 150F.

it was about 95 degrees outside. I just ran it again and it hit 200 on the motor and 130 on the esc. All stock. I guess I need to find a heat sink and fan setup for it. Thanks for all the tips guys.

Hello and welcome.

Not a lot of room under the Typhon body so here are some suggestions:

Powerhobby 30mm or 40mm fan mount
https://www.powerhobby.com/phmount02.html

Powerhobby 40mm fan
https://www.powerhobby.com/powerhobby-phf4040silver.html

Works good on the stock 2050kv motor. I have TLR running I am only doing 4S and motor temp is at max 150F. Cannot say for 6S so watch the temp but the large 40mm fan still is a great add

1656221315183.png