UBEC installation

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

babolimp

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
Hi all

I find that my arrma outcast has a very wide turning circle on grass. I upgraded the servo mount to GKA and the servo to a savox 1210SG however I feel it still doesn't have enough torque on grass. The internal BEC gives the servo 6v which = 20kg of torque. I want to try it with an external UBEC, which will give it 7.4v and 32kg of torque.

I've never done this before, so I have a couple of questions
  1. Is the UBEC I bought compatible with my setup? (arrma outcast 2018 + Savox 1210SG + Henge 12A UBEC)
  2. looking at the attached image, is the wiring correct?
mods used:
servo (Savox 1210SG) = https://www.savoxusa.com/collection...ducts/savsw1210sg-waterproof-coreless-digital
servo mount (GKA) = https://www.gkacustomrcparts.com/product-page/cervo-mount
ubec (to be installed - Henge 12A UBEC) = https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/New-HEN...740585?hash=item1caeccc8a9:g:gTYAAOSwllpbFlNy

cheers

arrma outcast UBEC mod.png

Last edited:
Is your servo saver adjusted correctly ? Dual rate on transmitter fully clockwise ? End points set ? That servo should be noticeably better than stock even at 6v.
On another note. The wiring configuration drawn on the picture is not correct if you ever intend to run two batteries in series. You have to connect the Bec + & - to the + & - of the ESC battery leads (As the wiring diagram shows)

Last edited:
not 100% sure what a servo saver is, but i don't think i have one
dual rate is fully clockwise
end points are set to the point where they pull the servo mount just a bit at full turn
the servo is better than stock. stock was actually DOA and warranty replaced lol.
turning circles are just way too wide (at speed) unless i power slide

i don't intend to ever use 2 batteries in series