Raider VXL upgraded Raider needing some help

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Frog417

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Raider
Im brand new to rc. I have a raider that I bought off ebay it came with a traxxas vxl and vilneon motor no servo or radio. I bought an ax5s and a 7g arrma servo runs perfect. I take it out again and while driving it loses power. Or so I thought I throttled back and had my finger on the motor shaft now I have a burn hole in my finger. So the motor spins but the tires don't I feel like I stripped the gears somewhere I have checked the motor gears ,spur and pinion I think like I said very new and they are good what should i look at next

Im brand new to rc. I have a raider that I bought off ebay it came with a traxxas vxl and vilneon motor no servo or radio. I bought an ax5s and a 7g arrma servo runs perfect. I take it out again and while driving it loses power. Or so I thought I throttled back and had my finger on the motor shaft now I have a burn hole in my finger. So the motor spins but the tires don't I feel like I stripped the gears somewhere I have checked the motor gears ,spur and pinion I think like I said very new and they are good what should i look at next

Welcome to the forum. Probably not a bad idea to get a fresh start in the member introductions thread. Haven't seen a lot of Raider owners here, but I'm sure someone will crawl out of the woodwork to help out. If the Raider has a slipper, and I'm not sure if it does, that would be my first conclusion. Worn out slipper won't allow for proper transfer of power. How about some pics of the set up for reference?

How much did you pick it up for?

I recommend nobody buys a used rc because 99% of the time they’re being sold because the owner got sick of it, abused it, and didn’t repair it after something real bad went wrong, especially if you’re a newbie!