Granite What battery should I use for Granite 4x4?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HectorLT

Premium Member!
Premium Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Granite
Hello everyone, I recently bought a Granite 4x4. The clerk at the store had recommended this one for a new commer like myself. I have no experience at all with RC cars and just want some helpful advice/tips.

The clerk also said that it would be best if I change the stock 2400mAh 8.4V NiMh battery with a LiPo battery, but I have no idea which to buy since there are so many out there. Same can be said with the charger and ultimately the engine which is a 12turn motor I guess.

Looking for some guidance on how to get the best use out of my new toy.

Read up on LiPo batteries as they can be dangerous if mishandled. That said, most modern battery chargers will handle LiPo chemistry. In chargers I usually recommend you make sure that your charger has a "storage charge" function, and can handle much bigger batteries than you currently have. My current Hobbyking charger is rated up to 10 amps of charging power, and can handle (supposedly) up to 6S (6 cells) LiPo. I only run 2 & 3S, so my charger can handle waaaay more than it'll likely ever have to. If you're going to stay with the brushed power system, pretty much any 2S LiPo batt should do ya. A quick LiPo primer:

Number of cells, expressed with a number followed by the letter S: 2S means two cells. Each LiPo cell is 3.7 volts. 2S=7.4 volts, 3S=11.1 volts, etc. 2S will be noticeably faster than the stock nimh batt. 3S faster still, but will likely burn-up your motor or ESC (on 3S, 2S should be fine).