What solder do you use?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gordo

Premium Member!
Premium Member
Rig of the Month Winner
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Felony
  2. Limitless
Just wonder what electrical solder is the best to use, silver bearing, 60/40 lead bearing. I have silver bearing and it just seems a SOB to solder 8 wire with.

I use this and seems to be good.
IMG_4517.jpeg

With silver you need lots of heat. Like 400+ deg Celsius. And 50 Watts is not enough. If silver is soldered well it looks like lead solder that is broken. There is a real danger of damaging lipos when you use silver and don't have enough heat and you need time to get the solder hot.

That's what I thought, I just received my onyx 4s 6500 lipos and have to solder my connectors on and did purchase some 60/40 solder, I think it will work out a lot better. I've been a plumber since 1985 and solder probably over a million joints but I struggle with soldering wire, go figure. Never f-ed with rc wiring because I always had gas vehicles but since I got my felony and limitless it's been no stop connectors. Thanks

Best solder, imho, is Kester 63/37 leaded solder. 63/37 has a distinct advantage over 60/40 due to its non-eutectic properties. What that means, in real world use is, when using 60/40 the solder joint needs to remain absolutely still during crystallization of the solder once heat is removed, otherwise you run the risk of producing cold solder joints. 63/37 does not incur this penalty and can be moved right up until the moment of crystallization without issue. Other than that they're very similar in terms of melting point (I believe 63/37 is a couple of degrees lower than 60/40 if memory serves) and how it flows.
1684880959018.png

Totally back to 60/40 lead. Tried different silver brands. Not for me.