Where do you charge your batteries?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

branfarm

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Kraton 4s
Hi folks,

I'm just getting back into RC after a 15 year hiatus, so I'm new to the whole LiPo scene. I've been sufficiently warned about the dangers of LiPo such that I'm questioning my ability to manage these things safely. I've picked up some 2S 5000mah batteries, a charger, charging bag, and storage bag, and now I'm wondering where I can safely work with them. I'm half-joking, but really I just want to make sure I don't burn my house down.

So with that in mind, one big question I have is, if it's recommended to never charge your batteries unattended, where do you charge them such that they are attended? I work from home so I could charge them in my office while I work, but I also don't want risk anything in there in case of an issue. But everywhere else I would charge them would largely be unattended. So I feel stuck. How are you managing the risks here?

Thanks in advance!

I have had my Lipos for a while and as long as you check on them frequently you shouldn’t have a problem. Their is a lot of talk about the dangers with them and me personally haven’t had problems with that. My place to charge them in a area of the house where no one is around or animals that could trip over it or something could happen but that my personal experience with it

Kitchen table, kitchen counter top, bathroom sink top. Should probably charge outside but can keep my eye on them while inside.

I always charge mine in my house (whilst I am in the same room) in a Lipo fireproof safety bag. Charging my 6S battery only takes around 30-45mins max so staying with it whilst it charges is no big deal.

You could always buy a "Bat safe" if you're overly worried about Lipo safety during charging or storage.
Like this: https://hobbyking.com/en_us/bat-saf...QYASABEgIlE_D_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds&___store=en_us