Raider Which Raider should I get?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Davidmbailey

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Raider
Hello all. I’m about to buy my first Raider. My problem is which one?

I am NOT going to race. Just backyard run on grass, dirt and wood chips. I wear glasses and can’t see a real long ways so I don’t think I need super fast but don’t want to get something I have to upgrade or replace in three months.

The brushless one seems great but as I am a newbie, and it is pretty expensive I’m scared to over spend.
The XL Mega seems nice but share a lot of the same specs as the lowest one.
The base line seems okay but nervous if it is a crud Mobile. My RC experience up to this point is a WLToys 12428.

Any advice which model I should get?

Thanks!
I went with the brushless. So far she is really sweet. eBay ad says it was new... uh, no, but not is BAD shape. So I have already Teflon tape and refilled shocks with oil. Tires are really worn so I'm looking for off road tires now. Probably aluminum shocks. But sweet as pie so far!

Last edited:
Hi

If I am not mistaken the 1/10 Raiders are going to be discounted, witch will leave only the 1/8 scale XL's to choose from.

Here are the differences between the two. Both require 4 AA's for the Radio, I would recommend getting 4 enloop batteries and charger for $20.

Raider XL Mega comes with the brushed system, a 2000mah NI-MH battery and charger, non-adjustable plastic turnbuckles, plastic front skid plate, and the ADS-5 servo for steering,

Raider XL BLX comes with the brushless system, NO battery or charger, adjustable turnbuckles, aluminum front skid plate, and the ADS-7M servo for steering.

Personally I would go with the Mega, if you get the BLX you will have spend almost $100 on a battery and charger.

Of course if you could find the OLDER Raider XL BLX then I would say get that, unfortunately there hard to find new in the box now a days.