Which should i get? SMC vs CNHL vs Zeee

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hector_Fisher

Very Active Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. BigRock 4x4
  2. Granite
  3. Kraton EXB
Looking for a sanity check/opinions on this. I need a new set of 3s packs to run in my Kraton exb and other assorted 3s trucks. One of my SMC extreme graphene V2s has one cell that is triple the IR of the other (28, 8, 8.5). The other battery is fine. Last run i did on my kraton the one SMC pack was 115-120F afterwards. Motor and esc were around 110F. I don't olan on running that SMC in my kraton again. Looking for a sub $100 option and considering these:

-SMC DV extreme 135c 5200mah
My current SMCs have lots of pep, but they are too sensitive amd lasted less than a year even with meticulous care. I'm a bit sour with SMC. Also not sure if 38mm thickness x2 will fit in the EXB.
-CNHL racing 120c 5200mah
I have no experience with CNHL brand, but the specs seem good.
-Zeee soft case 120c 6000mah
I own a pair of Zeee 3s premium 120c batteries that work well, but not nearly the same punch as my SMCs had, I expect these to perform similarly.

I am not the best for advice on bashers, but one thing I noticed is some of the mid grade batteries like Zee seem to last really well and may be better suited for bashers unless you are looking for peak performance. Generally I think of drag and speed runners who need/want that peak performance.

Ideally for a basher you really want a hard case lipo (y)

I did want to share with you that the 120c CNHL LiPos do not perform as well as the 70c G+ series. The C ratings are all bogus unless you reference a real test.

This data is now old but some good info here. I have always like the Turnigy HD 60c and like to stick with 5000 mAh to keep the weight down.
Check the battery name on the left against the real C value tested on the far right (2021 list):

All 2021 LPB Results.Jpg