Why any higher than 12t pinion?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yazman

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Kraton EXB
  2. Notorious
  3. Outcast 6s
Hey all. I'm a noob trying to learn more about gearing.

Forgive my ignorance, but why would you want anything higher than the stock 12T for general bashing (e.g., Outcast? I can understand for speed runs or racing, because more teeth equals more top end. However, since the stock gear has a max of 40 or 50mph, wouldn't you want to stick with it or maybe even go lower for the increased acceleration and torque? Or do people really hit max speed while bashing, hence the increased number of teeth people use? Maybe I'm just not bashing hard enough or I'm playing in too small of a space.

a few reasons-

first, the stock motor has enough power to turn a 14t with no heat issues except on +95f days, and even then it will work for most people. Arrma started the 12t back with the Kraton V1 with the smaller 4069 motor - that motor ran hot on a good day, and a 14t+6s would smoke it. When Arrma swapped in the stronger 4074 motor, they didn't change the pinions...

2 - Taller pinion = more wheel speed = better wheelies and stunting. Again, the motor has plenty of power, so torque is not an issue.

Also, for most people on this forum, Faster = better, so.... LOL

When I bash my outcast, I will be running 40%-70% throttle most of the time, with small jabs of 100% to get the truck to rotate (wheelie or flip). Really, 100% can't be used for more than a moment, because at low speeds, you will wheelie / backflip and at high speeds you will loose control / wheelie / cartwheel-of-death.

Comedy Central Lol GIF by Awkwafina is Nora from Queens

In all seriousness a 12t is perfectly fine and actually suggested by some.
But most on this forum is out of their mind and so more more more is what they are into.:ROFLMAO:

edit: for general bashing 12t is ok. These guys are insane!