Kraton Why is my Kraton 6s V3 gears grinding upon excel

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RC Panther

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. 4x4-Mega
  2. Granite
  3. Kraton 6s
20200211_130513_resized_1.jpg
20200213_150810_resized.jpg
20200213_152031_resized.jpg
20200213_152051_resized.jpg
20200213_211030_resized.jpg
20200213_233353_resized.jpg
20200213_233409_resized.jpg
Hello Guys I'm new to the hobby and purchased a Granite Mega, then purchased a used V3 Kraton, but the gears grind and I have lose of power once I really get on the trigger sounds like all of the teeth in my diffs are just grinding away and slipping over eachother, so I purchased 3 new HR diffs, changed out all internal gears, shimmed them the same as when I took apart, put in 30r/500c/60f oils turned down on the trigger the forward intensity and I still grinds and I lose the ability to wheelie so what have I done wrong or what am I doing wrong?…Please help bc every hobby shop has told me differently, and to be honest I'm about to toss this thing in the trash bc my Granite runs like a champ and offers much more driving pleasure. Please advise
Thanks

Did you reuse the front and rear ring and pinion on the difs? The ring gets a slight hard to see wear. Look for a couple teeth that are shorter, use a magnifier. This is almost always the problem.
I usually just buy complete difs assembled with housings. By the time you get the ring and input gears bought for just a few dollars you can get the whole thing from Jenny’s rc.

Last edited:
I had EXACTLY the same issue- no visible wear. Real pain in the but honestly. Because I’ve removed the entire bulkhead to correct the issue. Ended up swapping in a new complete gearbox case from Jenny’s RC and it cured the issue. Literally NOTHING else I did helped. I need to buy two new ring gears and the input gear. Thanks fully diffs are GTG still. Good luck- was mildly infuriating.