Big Rock Will re-positioning the ESC’s lower help prevent the mounting tabs from breaking so easy?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

basher27

Reaction score
I posted about this issue on a different thread the other day and someone mentioned to me since it was on the long wheelbase chassis to lower the ESC down. They thought it would be less vulnerable in this position. Personally, I don’t know how it could make much difference, but I am new to the hobby and curious if anyone else out there has an opinion? Trying to keep the mounting tabs from breaking as you can see in this position you need the tabs.

PS. As you see the motor sits right against the ESC and wires not sure if this would make it run hotter or not?

6A4326DE-CA11-482A-A283-A4E84343C418.jpeg

I don't think you'd see any difference in temps or durability. Maybe a slight improvement to low center of gravity.

Little if any difference. I would rather keep the esc further away from the motor due to heat concerns.

I posted about this issue on a different thread the other day and someone mentioned to me since it was on the long wheelbase chassis to lower the ESC down. They thought it would be less vulnerable in this position. Personally, I don’t know how it could make much difference, but I am new to the hobby and curious if anyone else out there has an opinion? Trying to keep the mounting tabs from breaking as you can see in this position you need the tabs.

PS. As you see the motor sits right against the ESC and wires not sure if this would make it run hotter or not?

View attachment 266902

Yes it helps prevent the tabs from breaking in 2 way's..

it's trapped between the motor and rx module.. slung weight can only go so far being trapped...

2nd is there is no possible way of the body smashing into it on a nasty impact...

All my lwb 3s rigs get the esc's mounted down in the chassis.. 👍