Wiring a fan

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FreightTrain03

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
So Im upgrading my motor to a hobbystar 4082 1600kv motor, I want to install the yeah racing tornado fans on the motor as well. Im concerned that that the motor combined with the fan will draw to many amps as the motor is already close to the limit the esc can handle

The motor draws 130 the esc allows 150 and the fans are 5 each, plus whatever the esc fan is using, id guess around 5.

Im new to the electrical aspect of rc cars this is my first real electronics upgrade, but the research I just did tells me this setup is a bad idea without another bec.

Yea you should just run it the way it is till you want to upgrade your esc then step up to something with an adjustable internal bec. Or get a external one. That fan isn't going to hurt you to much.

P.s. I can't believe you don't have a bec for your nice servo anyway. You spent 80 bucks on an awesome servo. But then again i think max volts is 6 on the 1210 so i guess it doesn't need the extra power but the steady 6volts is nice. I have a spektrum s6230 and that's 6 volts max and my castle 2.0 makes it super steady it really is nice.

Yeah, the 1210 had the same requirements the stock one so I stayed away from trying to figure out how to put in a bec until i had more confidence.

Ill run it without the bec, if i fry the esc I’ll upgrade it. Any suggestions for the esc of i need one?

I don't think the fans pull nearly that many amps.

These are typical 35mm fans that pull .5A each, actually says on the back of it .2A (that's point 2 amps):
http://gdstime.manufacturer.globals...1156805229/Small-Brushless-Axial-Flow-Fan.htm