Fans: The basics

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Kraton 6s
  2. Outcast 6s
I know there's loads of threads on here debating all the different kinds of fans, different size, different material, different rpm, different voltage etc, but i need to know the real basics, dumb it down for me.

So none of my RC cars have ever came equipped with a fan, other than the OEM one built into the ESC. Mine were all older 6s versions of arrma cars before fans came as standard.

I would like to fit fans to the motor to prolong its life. It's a BLX185 ESC and motor running 6s, and i don't want to have to run them off of a seperate battery.

1. - Will a single fan be sufficient on the motor?
2. - Where do you plug the fan into?
3. - How many fans/amps drawn before a separate battery is required?

Thanks for any help, i've no experience with aftermarket fans.

Most people prefer to run 2 fans on a 6s motor. Some come setup to plug right into the receiver without the need for an extra battery, like these 8.4v fans:
https://www.radiocontrolpower.com/p...-bracket-with-40x28-fans-aluminum-mesh-covers
Others can be more powerful and pretty much require a separate battery, such as these 12v fans, which plug into the balance port on a small 3s LiPo:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0BF9QYDMB?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details
I see you have a Kraton and an Outcast, and many people bash these rigs hard with some big air at times. If that’s the case, your fans will not last as long due to hard impacts and landings.
The first fans I listed included the mount. The second set did not. I use these, and they’re available for several different motor sizes:
https://www.powerhobby.com/phmount03.html