Granite Granite 4X4 BLX steering "slop"

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jhamm

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Senton 6s
I have been bashing this truck for about 3 months and the tie rod ends and pillow bushings and comletely worn out. There is over a 3/4" play in the steering.

Any suggestions on upgrades to correct this situation?

Thanks!

Nothing to report yet, but I have ordered some stuff to try out and see if it helps. I’ve got the GPM aluminum steering rack, and I’ve ordered some aluminum-and-brass rod ends to see if I can make a tighter tie rod than the stock plastic ones. Unfortunately those rod ends are on the slow boat from China, so I don’t know when they will show up!

I tried just replacing the plastic bushings with ball bearings, but that didn’t do much. The GPM rack might help all by its self, but I think the tie rods are the biggest source of slop, so I haven’t been in a hurry to replace the steering rack on its own.

I have the GPM bellcrank it does take away some of the slop. But the endlinks wear out. I replaced mine same time installed bellcrank. Nice and tight now.

Nothing to report yet, but I have ordered some stuff to try out and see if it helps. I’ve got the GPM aluminum steering rack, and I’ve ordered some aluminum-and-brass rod ends to see if I can make a tighter tie rod than the stock plastic ones. Unfortunately those rod ends are on the slow boat from China, so I don’t know when they will show up!

I tried just replacing the plastic bushings with ball bearings, but that didn’t do much. The GPM rack might help all by its self, but I think the tie rods are the biggest source of slop, so I haven’t been in a hurry to replace the steering rack on its own.

I ordered the exact items from GPM but like you I have no idea when they will arrive!