Kraton K6 EXB broken planetary gear question

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GreatWhiteDope

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, was doing my first diff maintenance yesterday. Swapping oils and checking everything. Went with 60K front, 200k center and 30k rear.
Anyways, on one of the diffs I noticed a broken part and was wondering if anyone knew if I’d be ok to bash for a bit with it or if I should replace asap.
Thanks in advance

IMG_2486.jpeg

You could run it until the diff explodes, which it will eventually. That sort of break is often caused by landing jumps on throttle or brake.
Ahh ok. Was wondering what could have caused something like that. I’m still very new to the hobby.
And I’d prefer it to not explode lol so guess I’ll go ahead and get a replacement. Thanks man

Is this a new v2 EXB or v1? They improved the casting material recently as it was a common breakage on the v1 29mm diffs, what ESC/Motor are you running?

Is this a new v2 EXB or v1? They improved the casting material recently as it was a common breakage on the v1 29mm diffs, what ESC/Motor are you running?
Yah it’s the new one, the v2 im guessing. Got it back in mid January. And im still on the stock motor/ESC. One of the few things I haven’t changed or upgraded yet

@Dan B. hey another quick question, on my fireteam I found in the front and rear diffs the small pin that holds the out drive cups in were both snapped in multiple pieces. What causes that? poop landings to or what ya think?

@Dan B. hey another quick question, on my fireteam I found in the front and rear diffs the small pin that holds the out drive cups in were both snapped in multiple pieces. What causes that? poop landings to or what ya think?
Cross pins and the ears on back of planetary gears fracturing is a TORQUE issue ... Excessive or sudden spikes in drive line torque something will break starting with the weakest link ... case in point (y)