Typhon newbie with a new typhon

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gwnm2

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
so i'm brand new to the hobby and jumping in head first with a typhon 6s. I'm a bit unsure about batteries, as at this point its a lot of numbers and brands that don't make much sense. From reading a few threads it seems one 6S is the better way to go over two 3S. Since the car comes with a spektrum radio is this the best way to go for batteries, and charger? Is having the battery status display on to the radio important, as I've read that discharging a lipo battery to much isn't good for them. You certainly pay for the brand, and they don't seem to have great customer service....didn't respond to my emails. At this point id like to keep things easy, cause it seems you could do some damage if you don't know what you're doing.
thanks

Lots of opinions on batteries and chargers. So, i’ll just share the option i use.

I go for 2x3s batteries. Cheaper and if one cell goes bad or a pack gets ejected, i don't lose the whole 6s pack.

Charging, i always balance charge and use whatever cheapo name brand lipo charger from amazon. A dual charger is like $85.

And u can get goldbatt 3s batteries, 6000mah for $28/each. Been doing this for about 2 years.

My cheapness does not allow me to spend money on those crazy name brand batteries. Keep in mind, the ESC in your typhon has an LVC (low voltage cut), so it will stop the car when it’s too low, you wont kill the battery.

Also, im just bashing and i have a few trucks. Not racing, so - this setup is great for my setup.

Good luck… stay tuned for 100 other battery/charger options. Lol