Typhon Typhon 3s BLX 1/8 Track (re)Build

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Typhon 3s
My Typhon 3s has been abused at the local RC track recently, so I figured this would be a good time to do a build thread on it. I’m new to the RC race track, but I’ve been modifying and bashing RC cars for a few years. I'm happy to receive any questions/comments/advice.

Here's a look at my Typhon running at track

Last edited:
Thank you Neelis and Johnny b! I feel lucky to have this track nearby. It has been a lot of fun with the Typhon.

Modifications to the chassis:
  • Slot below the spur gear: Drilled two ¼” holes about 1” apart, then used a dremel cutoff wheel to cut from one drilled hole to the other. (Credit to Rich Duperbash for the idea)
  • Aluminum ESC mounting plate. Cut from a leftover piece of flat bar: https://www.homedepot.com/p/Everbil...m-Flat-Bar-with-1-8-in-Thick-801937/204273949
  • Motor support: 1” x 1” piece of Scotch 2228 (thick rubber, moisture sealing, electrical tape) applied underneath the end of the motor. (My Chassis is cracked from the end of the motor hitting it)
  • Motor mount Saver: 4mm screw threaded into the hole on the far right side of the chassis in front of the power module. (milehighrc YT recommendation: "Arrma 3s Bent motor mount fix" )

IXbUromSCJencKrd6vq6jxwJaN7_URarYtbiv3FNBI0W803M65ZIgiNndWLJ8xpJFs9T1RRhR4zMGbJ1flm27d5OKLbV1sbTmqMsRVuaH78He2rC6A3AHeZZwWiINY38Jjd0QyfNK2JDPfYn2z2ZgqQ

Most of the bearings were full of grit and would not turn. I tried removing the seals and cleaning them with brake fluid, but only about 1 in 3 came out smooth enough to reuse. I bought the Fast Eddie bearing replacement kit for the Typhon 3s on Amazon to replace the old ones. I'm planning to remove the seals and pack them with marine grease. Seems to work good with crawlers, but I haven't read anything about people doing it with faster cars.